The American Academy of Chefs 2016 American Academy of Chefs Award Recipients

David Banks

AAC Chair’s Medal

David L. Banks, CEC®, AAC®

Executive Chef/Partner, Harry’s Hospitality Group, Wilmington, Dela.; Regional Director (Northeast), American Academy of Chefs; ACF First State Chefs Association

Past Winners

John Zehnder

Lawrence A. Conti, CEC, AAC, HOF, Chair’s Achievement Award

John W. Zehnder, CEC®, AAC®

Executive Chef, Zehnder’s Restaurant, Frankenmuth, Mich.; Chapter Certification Chair, ACF Flint/Saginaw Valley Chapter

Past Winners

Jan Bandula

Joseph Amendola Award

Jan Bandula, CMPC®, CEC®, AAC®

Faculty Emeritus, Stratford University, Baltimore, Md.; Chapter Membership Chair, ACF Greater Baltimore Chapter, Inc.

Past Winners

Peter Hodgson

Chef Good Taste Award

Peter Hodgson, CEC®, AAC®

Campus Executive Chef, University of Utah Dining Services - Chartwells Dining Services, Salt Lake City, Utah; Chapter Membership Chair, ACF Beehive Chefs Chapter Inc.

Past Winners

Christopher Desens

Sharing Culinary Traditions Award

Christopher A. Desens, CEC®, CCA®, AAC®

Program Director, Culinary Institute of St. Louis at Hickey College, St. Louis, Mo.; Chapter Education and Program Chair, ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis, Inc.

Past Winners

Robert Sparks

Lt. General John D. McLaughlin Award

Robert M. Sparks

Chief Warrant Officer 4, U.S. Army (Retired), A.K. Food Consultants, LLC, Petersburg, Va.; ACF Old Dominion Chapter

Past Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was introduced to raise funds for the American Academy of Chefs scholarship funds, and to recognize an Academy Fellow who has shown outstanding dedication to our profession. This individual is regarded as an industry trendsetter and possesses a commitment to excellence, providing leadership, motivation, and inspiration to colleagues and the youth of the culinary industry. Past Recipients | Request a Nomination Packet

Regional Chair’s Award

The Regional Chair’s Award was presented annually from 2001 through 2007 to an AAC Fellow from each region who had demonstrated high honor and whose involvement in the AAC had been recognized by their region’s AAC director. Past Winners

Service Award Pin

The AAC Service Award Pin is presented to Academy Fellows who demonstrate active participation, service and dedication to the AAC, ACF and culinary profession. An AAC Fellow must meet all criteria as defined in the application form in order to be eligible to receive the award. To request an application, please contact the Academy office at ACF’s national headquarters at (800) 624-9458. More