ACF Today, Vol. II, No. 17
June 25, 2004


 In this edition . . .

* Delta Air Lines to award free flights at convention
* Candidates announced for 2004 ACF Nutritional Hot-Food Challenge
* Four chefs will compete in ACF National Pasta Championship
* Submit monies for CCF/Culinary Team USA raffle by Wednesday
* 33rd-annual Academy of Chefs dinner is closed

Delta Air Lines to Award Two Free Air-Travel Tickets in Orlando

At the 2004 ACF National Convention in Orlando, Delta Airlines will award two complimentary domestic-coach tickets in a special drawing on Monday, July 19, at 2:00 p.m. at ACF's booth during the Trade Show. Stop by booth #1204 to register for a chance to win. Winners will be notified by Delta if not present at the time of drawing.

Also, don't forget you can still receive a 5% discount with Delta Air Lines on certain fares for travel to ACF's national convention. Plus, if you access Delta Air Lines online through ACF's Web site and click on the Delta logo at the bottom of the page, Delta will award 1,000 bonus SkyMiles.

Chefs Chosen for ACF Nutritional Hot-Food Challenge 2004

The following chefs will prepare four-course meals conforming to nutrition guidelines in the ACF Nutritional Hot-Food Challenge 2004, and vie for top prize of $2,500:

Travis Catanzaro, CC
Coldstream Country Club, Cincinnati

Frank Costantino, CEC, CCE
Senior lead instructor
The Art Institute of New York City

Daryl Shular, CCC
Culinary-arts instructor
The Art Institute of Atlanta

David St. John-Grubb, CEC, CCE, AAC
Corporate chef
The J.M. Smucker Company, Orville, Ohio

The ACF Nutritional Hot-Food Challenge 2004 will take place on Sunday, July 18, on the trade-show floor of the 2004 ACF National Convention in Orlando, Fla., and the winner will be announced at an awards brunch on Tuesday, July 20. The competition is sponsored by Custom Food Products, Inc., and J.R. Simplot Company.

ACF National Pasta Championship Chefs Named

This year's 2004 ACF National Pasta Championship sponsored by American Italian Pasta Company on Sunday, July 18, at the Orlando World Center Marriott will feature four chefs who will compete for the first prize of $1,500 using Pasta LaBella brand pasta. The chefs are:

Eric K. Johnson
Sous chef
Lutsen Resort, Lutsen, Minn.

Frederik Lucardie, CEC, AAC
Executive chef/foodservice director
University Village, Tampa, Fla.

Felix Stürmer
Culinary-arts instructor
Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.

Joseph Trama, CEC
Executive chef
The Center for Visual & Performing Arts, Munster, Ind.

Submit CCF/Culinary Team USA Raffle Monies by June 30

June 30 is the deadline for chapters that have sold raffle tickets for the CCF/Culinary Team USA fund-raiser to submit monies raised up to $750. Send a check payable to ACF with (1) stubs from sold raffle tickets and (2) unsold raffle tickets to Beverly Stuart, American Culinary Federation, 180 Center Place Way, St. Augustine, FL 32095. For more information, call (800) 624-9458, x108, or e-mail

Seating Closed for American Academy of Chefs Dinner

Seating for the 33rd-annual Dinner and Induction Ceremony of the American Academy of Chefs, July 17, 2004, at the Caribe Royale Resort and Hotel in Orlando, Fla., is now closed. Tickets, at $135 each, are only available in the event of cancellations. To be placed on a waiting list, contact Barbera Stockton at (800) 624-9458, x102,, or visit the Academy registration desk at the Orlando World Center Marriott prior to the dinner.

©2007 American Culinary Federation

Through the ACF Today e-newsletter, the federation will provide members with regular news alerts and timely information on products and services offered by the American Culinary Federation and its partners. If you do not wish to receive the newsletter, please reply to this e-mail with REMOVE in the subject header.