ACF Today, Vol. III, No. 16
August 8, 2005


 In this edition . . .

* Award Winners at ACF National Convention
* ACF, ACFF, CCF Proposed Bylaws Passed at National Convention
* New Programs Approved for Initial Accreditation and Program Certification
Sizzle Magazine Extends Student Recipe Contest
* NCR Seeks Chefs
* Congrats to the Chef & Child PT Cruiser winner!
* CCF Names New Officers

Award winners at ACF National Convention
Help us congratulate the following award winners, presented at ACF National Convention!
* U.S.A's Chef of the Year™ - Richard Rosendale, CC
* Pastry Chef of the Year - Darrin Aoyama, CEPC
* Educator of the Year - Tim Michitsch, CEC, CCE
* Student Culinarian of the Year - Christopher Gould
* Chef Professionalism Award - Tom Macrina, CEC, AAC
* Hermann G. Rusch Achievement Award - Phil Learned, CEC, AAC
* ACF Nutritional Hot-Food Challenge Award - Scott Smith, CEC, CCE
* ACF Student Team National Championship - Orange Coast College
* National Chapter of the Year (TIE) - ACF Flint/Saginaw Valley Chapter and ACF Central Florida Chapter
* AAC Chair's Medal - Denis Ellis, CEC, AAC
* Knowledge Bowl Champions - Schoolcraft College
* The Michael Ty, CEC, AAC Endowment Fund of ACF CCF - Fredrick "Chuck" Meitner
* CCF True Spirit Award - David Wasson, CCC, CCE
* ACF Chef and Child Little Oscar Award - ACF Minneapolis Chefs Chapter
Upcoming issues of both The National Culinary Review and Center of the Plate will feature full coverage of the ACF National Convention.

ACF, ACFF, CCF Proposed Bylaws Passed at National Convention

The bylaw amendments for The American Culinary Federation, Inc., The American Culinary Federation Foundation, Inc., and The American Culinary Federation Chef & Child Foundation, Inc. as submitted to the board of governors on June 1, 2005, were passed at the ACF National Convention Board of Governors meeting on Monday, August 1, in four motions made from the floor. These motions were to amend the federation bylaws in Article 6, Section 2, by moving the certification committee from the foundation bylaws Article 7, Section B, and to approve the bylaws of ACF, ACFF and CCF.

New Programs Approved for Initial Accreditation and Program Certification

Twice a year, new programs are reviewed for inclusion into the initial ACF Accreditation and Program Certification program. The following school's programs were reviewed and approved in July.

Initial Grants of Accreditation to Post Secondary Programs:
* Quality College, Fresno, CA
* Tidewater Community College, Norfolk, VA
* Pikes Peak Community College, Pikes Peak, CO
* Kona Community College, HI
* Hilo Community College, HI
* Brown College, Le Cordon Bleu, Mendota Heights, MN
* Alamance Community College, Graham, NC
* Platt College, Oklahoma City, OK

Initial Program Certification of Secondary Programs:

* Greater Newbedford, New Bedford, MA
* McCann Tech High, North Adams, MA
* Shawsheen Valley Tech, Billerica, MA

Sizzle Magazine Extends Student Recipe Contest

Sizzle is extending the deadline on the recipe contest featuring Maple Leaf Farms duck. Through Sept. 30 (postmarked), any student in the culinary arts, including apprentices, may enter for a grand prize of a $1,000 scholarship. Second prize is $500 in scholarship funds, and third prize is a $250 scholarship.

Any Maple Leaf Farms duck product can be used, including fresh whole, fresh parts and further-processed (value-added, or convenience) products. Recipes showcasing duck must be original, serve at least four and be typed out with ingredients and steps of execution. Entries must also include a brief paragraph on how the dish meets the needs of modern foodservice.

Students may enter more than one recipe. Include your name, address and contact information, as well as the name and location of the school or program in which you're enrolled.

Send recipe entries to Maple Leaf Farms Student Recipe Contest, attn: Deborah Moore, American Culinary Federation, Inc., 180 Center Place Way, St. Augustine, FL 32095 or e-mail to Winners will be announced in the winter edition of Sizzle! For more information, call (800) 624-9458, x106.

NCR Seeks Chefs

The National Culinary Review wants to hear from chefs who work in soup kitchens/charities. Please contact Suzanne Hall at

Congrats to the Chef & Child PT Cruiser Winner

Charles Duit, CEC, AAC, a member of the Texas Chefs Association, was the winner of the 2005 PT Cruiser raffled off by the Chef & Child Foundation. Although he was not at the CCF event, he was at the convention, and accepted his car the next day. CCF appreciates everyone who bought raffle tickets and offers hearty congratulations to Chef Duit!

CCF Names New Officers

At the Board of Governor's meeting, Joe Kraft, CEC, AAC, was named CCF Foundation president. In addition, Elizabeth Mikesell, CEC, AAC, was named chair, Vince Blancato was named secretary and Ira Fingerman was named treasurer of Chef & Child. All were previously CCF board members.

©2007 American Culinary Federation

Through the ACF Today e-newsletter, the federation will provide members with regular news alerts and timely information on products and services offered by the American Culinary Federation and its partners. If you do not wish to receive the newsletter, please reply to this e-mail with REMOVE in the subject header.