ACF Today, Vol. III, No. 17
August 12, 2005


 In this edition . . .

* Academy of Chefs Awards and Recognitions
* President's Medallions Recipients Recognized
* Newest Hall of Fame and AAC Members Inducted
* Special Presidential Awards Conferred
* 2005 Achievement of Excellence Award Recipients
* Congrats to the Chef and Child Raffle Winners
* Culinary Salon Winners
* Thank you to all convention sponsors

Newest Hall of Fame and AAC Members Inducted

The American Academy of Chefs congratulates its 2005 Culinary Hall of Fame inductees, Fritz Sonnenschmidt, CMC, AAC, and Gino Corelli, CEC, AAC, as well as honorary inductee Tom Schreiber, HAAC, HBOT.

The AAC also applauds the following 13 chefs who were elected for induction this year into the Academy, as well as the four honorary inductees:

Jerald Chesser, CEC, CCE
Thomas Ciapi, CEC, CCE, CCA
Kelly Cook, CEC
Ralph Comstock, CEC
Christopher Dwyer, CEC
Bienvenido Fonbuena, Jr., CEC, CCE
Costa Magoulas, CEC, CCE, CCA
Despina Makredes, CCE, AAC
Rene Marquis, CEC, CCE, PCEC
Patrick Mitchell, CEC
Robert Stegall-Smith, CEC
Jeremy Still, CEC
Thomas Yanisko, CEC

Honorary Members
Peter Bartz
John Peduzzi
Jane Ruddick, Ph.D.
James Singerling, CEC, HBOT

President's Medallion Recipients Recognized

In 1991, Jack Braun, CEC, AAC, then national president of ACF, introduced the presentation of ACF President's Medallions as tokens of appreciation and tribute to people who contribute significantly to the culinary profession. The following are the 2005 President's Medallions recipients presented at the ACF National Conference.

Candace Bauer, CEC
Walter Bronowitz, CCC, CCE, AAC
Delite Campbell
Charles Carroll, CEC, AAC
Michael Garbin, CEC, AAC
Rudy Garcia
Fritz Gitschner, CMC, AAC
Peter Knipp
Thomas Landusky, CEC
Bruno Marti, HAAC
Lawrence McFadden, CMC
Ferdinand Metz, CMC, AAC, HOF
Reinhold Metz, HAAC
Sharon Pallas, CC, CEPC
Louis Perrotte, CEC, AAC
Fritz Sonnenschmidt CMC, AAC
Jim Taylor, CEC, AAC
Peter Timmins, CMC
Luis Vega, CEC, AAC
Mark Wright, CEC, AAC
John Zehnder, CEC, AAC

Academy of Chefs Awards and Recognitions

Garry Waldie, CEC, CEPC, CCE, AAC, won the AAC Sharing Culinary Traditions Award for his unwavering dedication to the education of future culinarians, and Denis Ellis, CEC, AAC, received the AAC Chair's Medal for his demonstration of the highest qualities of professionalism in the culinary profession.

In addition, AAC congratulates the following chefs who received the AAC Regional Chair's and Chef Good Taste Awards, which were presented at the ACF National Convention.

Central Region
Chef Good Taste Award-Bernard Urban, CEC, AAC
Regional Chair's Award-Joe Aiello, CEC, AAC

Northeast Region
Chef Good Taste Award-Dale Miller, CMC, AAC
Regional Chair's Award-Biagio Dente, CEC, AAC

Southeast Region
Chef Good Taste Award-Sal Marino, CEC, HAAC
Regional Chair's Award-John Saundry, CEC, AAC

Western Region
Chef Good Taste Award- Gary Prell, CEC, CCE, AAC
Regional Chair's Award- Sal Campagna, CEC, HAAC

The AAC celebrated its 50th "golden" anniversary at this year's national convention. The annual AAC dinner, a highlight of the convention, featured an enticing six-course dinner and individual celebration cakes. Look for more information in the next edition of Center of the Plate and The National Culinary Review!

Special Presidential Awards Conferred

Each year at convention, the ACF President confers special awards to members, partners and staff who he feels have provided outstanding leadership and service to ACF. Congratulations to the 2005 winners!

Leadership Award - Reimund Pitz, CEC, CCE, AAC
ACF Industry Partnership Award - Fortessa, Inc.
President's Award - Brad Barnes, CMC, AAC
Special Recognition Awards - Tom Macrina, CEC, AAC, John Minniti, CCE, AAC, George Pastor, CEC, CCE, AAC, Brent Frei, Bruce Riddell, CEC, AAC

2005 Achievement of Excellence Award Recipients

This award recognizes foodservice establishments that exemplify commitment to excellence in foodservice for their specific marketplace. ACF congratulates the following award recipients.

Fine Dining
Spiaggia, Chicago
Spice, Atlanta
El Gaucho, Seattle
Gramercy Tavern, New York

Casual Dining
Prejeans, Lafayette, La.
O'Steen's, St. Augustine, Fla.

Private Clubs/Resorts
Cherry Hills Country Club, Englewood, Colo.
Chevy Chase Club, Chevy Chase, Md.
The Coeur d'Alene Resort, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Interlachen Country Club, Edina, Minn.
Odyssey Country Club, Tinley Park, Ill.

Hotel/Hotel Restaurant
Ritz-Carlton, Naples, Fla.
W New York-Times Square, New York

Noncommercial Private Dining Room
University Village, Tampa, Fla.

Culinary Program
Chef's Palette-The Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Congrats to the Chef & Child Raffle Winners

Thank you to everyone who purchased a CCF raffle ticket! Congratulations to the lucky winners.

Framed Beatle 3-D Picture - ACF Palm Beach County Chapter
King Sized Down Comforter - Charisa Wilson
Tailgaters Charcoal Football Grill - Toni Lang
SANSEO Home Coffee Brewer and Sara Lee Gourmet Coffee -
Witchita Area Chapter
Rob Lafond
Emily Freeman
Limited Edition Itaglio Handmade Print - Billy Graham

Culinary Salon Winners

In a competition open to both professionals and students at the ACF National Convention, the Culinary Salon feature displays by more than 40 competitors. Below are the winners in each of the four categories.

Category A Cooking- Timothy Bucci
Category B Cooking- George Gonzalez
Category C Patisserie/Confectionery - Craig Peterson
Category D Showpiece- Marilyn Crosson

Thank You to all of our Convention Sponsors

ACF is so thankful to the following sponsors for making our convention a success!

Custom Culinary, Inc.
Nestlé FoodServices
R.L. Schreiber, Inc.

Grand Platnium
Le Cordon Bleu Schools North America
Unilever Foodsolutions

The Art Institutes (EDMC)
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Johnson & Wales University
Kraft Foodservice, a division of Kraft Foods Global, Inc.
McCormick and Company
National Pork Board
Sara Lee Coffee & Tea

Mexican Shrimp Council
U.S. Foodservice

American Lamb Board
Butterball Farms, Inc.
The Cheesecake Factory Bakery, Inc.
Chef's Hat, Inc,
GFF, Inc./Girard's Dressings
National Honey Board
J.R. Simplot Company
Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board

Canada Cutlery, Inc.
Cargill Salt
Chef Designs
Mills Family Farms
RC Fine Foods
Schulstad Royal Danish Pastry

AAC Sponsors

Grand Patron
Allen Brothers, Inc.
Allied Domecq Wines USA
Barber Foods
Ben E. Keith Foods
Caviar Creator
Ecolab Inc.
Fortessa, Inc.

Sara Lee Coffee & Tea

Boggiatto Produce, Inc./Garden Hearts® Iceberg Babies™

Albert Uster Imports
Custom Culinary, Inc.
Jennie-O Turkey Store
NEWCHEF Fashion, Inc.
New Zealand Mussel Industry Council
Phillips Seafood
R.L. Schreiber, Inc.
Tulkoff Food Products

©2007 American Culinary Federation

Through the ACF Today e-newsletter, the federation will provide members with regular news alerts and timely information on products and services offered by the American Culinary Federation and its partners. If you do not wish to receive the newsletter, please reply to this e-mail with REMOVE in the subject header.