The Culinary Insider - July 20, 2009 (Vol. VII, Issue 16)

You Asked for MORE

The 2009 ACF National Convention in Orlando, Fla., delivered MORE continuing education, MORE professional development and MORE fun. Over the course of five days, July 10–14, professional chefs, student culinarians and foodservice industry experts attended 32 seminars and workshops, 24 culinary demos, 8 competitions and exhibitions, 8 book signings, 7 social functions and a two-day trade show.

The convention came to a close with the President’s Grand Ball and Sweet Decadence dessert party, sponsored by Splenda®. It was an exciting evening with the announcement of the competition winners and ending with the swearing in of the national officers and board of directors.

ACF National Competition Winners

U.S.A.’s Chef of the Year™, sponsored by Unilever Foodsolutions
Joseph Leonardi, CEC; executive chef, Somerset Club, Boston; ACF Rhode Island Chapter

ACF National Pastry Chef of the Year, sponsored by Splenda®
Heather Hurlbert; executive pastry chef, Cherokee Town & Country Club, Atlanta; ACF Greater Atlanta Chapter Inc.

ACF National Chef Educator of the Year
Timothy Bucci, CEC, CCE, CHE; associate professor, Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter

ACF National Student Chef of the Year, sponsored by Custom Culinary, Inc.
Kelly Conwell; graduate, Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.; ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association

ACF National Student Team Championship, sponsored by R.L. Schreiber, Inc.
Chefs de Cuisine Association of Hawaii Honolulu, students at Kapi’olani Community College, Honolulu: Anna Hirano, Keaka Lee, Tate Nakano-Edwards, San Shoppell, Rena Suzuki and Frank Leake, CCC, CCE, coach

Chef Professionalism Award, sponsored by Nestlé Professional
Dale Miller, CMC, WGMC, AAC; executive chef/owner, Dale Miller, Albany, N.Y.; ACF Capital District–Central New York

Hermann G. Rusch Chef’s Achievement Award
Wolfgang Bierer, CMPC, CEC, CCE, AAC; retired, Hilton Head Island, S.C.; ACF Chefs of the Low Country

Baron H. Galand Culinary Knowledge Bowl, sponsored by Pearson Education
Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis Inc.: Jeremy Brown, Meredith Frank, Erin Hoffmann, Amanda Losh, Richard Mueller and Vicki Davenport, coach

Many other individuals, chapters and dining establishments were honored during the course of the convention, from the ACF Pittsburgh Chapter being named ACF Chapter of the Year to the President’s Medallions, Achievement of Excellence awards, Chef & Child Foundation awards and MORE.


New this year, ACF TV highlighted each day’s events, keeping attendees and those at home informed of convention happenings. View the video archives.

ACF National Convention photos will be available for viewing and purchasing on by Friday, July 24.

American Academy of Chefs

The 38th Annual American Academy of Chefs Induction Dinner, July 10, was an evening of fine cuisine featuring delicacies from the Marriott’s Executive Chef Jon Espelage and a memorable first course of Caviar & Crab—Tin of Sin by Patrick O’Connell, proprietor/chef of The Inn at Little Washington. The AAC Spouses’ Luncheon, at Epcot Center’s France Pavilion hosted by Jerome Bocuse, son of legendary chef and restaurateur Paul Bocuse and general manager of Chefs de France at Epcot, and Remy, from DISNEY-PIXAR’s Ratatouille, was enjoyed by all attendees.

Durable and Precise OHAUS FD Scales

For durable and precise weighing, the OHAUS FD combines a large, bright display with an internal battery that lasts 120 hours between charges. With capacities from 6lb to 30lb, and precision up to 0.1g, these scales can be configured in lb, oz, lb:oz, kg and g. Includes modes for checkweighing and for baker’s percentages. NSF listed, supports HACCP systems. For more information or to find out how to buy, call (800) 672-7722, ext. 7021.

The Next Food Network Star Casting Call

The Next Food Network Star is holding casting calls. Apply and you might be The Next Food Network Star.

San Francisco: July 26, 10 a.m.–4 p.m.
New York City: July 31, 10 a.m.–4 p.m.
Los Angeles: August 10, 10 a.m.–4 p.m.
San Diego: August 17, 12 p.m.–5 p.m.
Atlanta: August 24, 10 a.m.–4 p.m.

NRAEF Names Executive Director

The National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF) announced that Barbara Sido has been named its executive director. The NRAEF is the philanthropic foundation of the National Restaurant Association and its mission is to enhance the restaurant industry’s service to the public through education, community engagement and promotion of career opportunities.

Think Globally Dine Locally

Support local ACF certified chefs by patronizing their establishments. Search ACF’s Dining Guide to dine at a restaurant with an ACF certified chef.