Recertification enhances continued competence and reaffirms knowledge in food safety and sanitation, nutrition and supervisory management. Learning experiences that enhance the knowledge and skill development of culinary arts professionals are considered continued education hours (CEH).

Upgrading/Adding an Additional Certification

If you are interested in upgrading your current certification or adding an additional certification, please contact the ACF Certification Department prior to applying to verify documentation already on file. Upgrading may be more appropriate for some candidates than recertification, and most of your requirements will be on file.

Current Certification Requirements

Maintaining Certification

For CFC®, CFPC™, CC® and CPC® certificants, who have an accelerated learning curve, recertification is annual. For all other levels, the recertification cycle is every five years. During this time, you must earn the below number of CEH, depending on your certification level achieved:

  • CFC® and CFPC™ - 10 CEHs annually
    - Only for certifications earned after 12/31/18
  • - Certifications earned prior to 1/1/2019 - must have earned 48 CEHs in the past 3 years and will switch to annual recertification after upcoming recertification is completed.
  • CMC® and CMPC® - 50 CEHs every 5 years
  • All other levels - 80 CEHs every 5 years
  • CMC® and CMPC® - 50 CEHs every 5 years

If you have an additional level of certification (CEC, CCA), your second level is half the requirement of the first level, the third level is a quarter of the requirement of the first, as is the fourth level. This means for a CEC, CEPC, CCE, CCA that the CEH requirement is 80+40+20+20=160 for the five-year cycle.

Earning CEH

Plan ahead to make the best use of your time and money. You can begin earning CEH as soon as you have completed the last recertification cycle. Know what you need and begin earning CEH early to keep up your certification. ACF Certified Members can monitor CEHs on ACF Member Profile Page.

  • Food Safety and Sanitation must be current (completed no more than five years ago) for every recertification. An 8-hour refresher, state issued sanitation card or ServSafe can be used to fulfill the requirement.
  • Nutrition and Supervisory Management refreshers (8 hour minimum) are only submitted one time for recertification once original 30-hour courses are more than five years old.
  • 25% of your CEH must come from volunteer, leadership, or competition activities effective January 1, 2020 for all levels except CFC, CFPC, CC, and CPC.

CEH Guidelines
CEH Submission Form
ACF Online Learning Center
CEH Opportunities

Application Process

Submit recertification application, required CEH documentation and recertification fee. Certificants with annual recertification can submit application three months ahead but no later than certification expiration date. Certificants with five-year recertification can submit application one year ahead but no later than the certification expiration date. Please allow 2-3 weeks for processing. ACF Certified Members experiencing a financial hardship may qualify for assistance. If a certificant is retired from the industry, they may choose to apply for Emeritus status, details included on application

Recertification Application
Recertification Assistance Application
Emeritus Application

Expired Certifications

Certifications that have not been expired more than 12 months, are still eligible for recertification.

Recertification after Expiration Policy
Designation Usage Policy

Have questions or need more information? Contact the ACF Certification Department.