ACF Student Chef of the Year Award

The ACF Student Chef of the Year recognizes a student who possesses a high degree of professionalism, culinary skills and passion for the culinary arts.

History of the Student Chef of the Year Award

The award was established in 1987 by the late Baron Galand, CEC, to help student members establish their position within ACF. From 1987 to 1998, the Student Chef of the Year Award was bestowed upon one national winner during ACF’s national convention. In 1999, however, it was decided that a winner from each ACF region would be chosen. Regional winners advance to the national convention where they vie for the national title. In 2003 a culinary cook-off was introduced at the national convention, and, for the first time, regional finalists competed for the national title.

2023 National Winner

  • Caitlin R. Drzyzga

2023 Regional Winners & National Competitors

  • Central Winner - Jennie Huynh (competed at Nationals)
  • Central - Caitlin R. Drzyzga (competed at Nationals)
  • Northeast Winner - Maxwell R. Smith (competed at Nationals)
  • Southeast Winner - Roman A. Nourse (competed at Nationals)
  • Western Winner - Andrea E. Sanchez (competed at Nationals)
  • Military Representative - Cpl Carol E. Duenez-Vallejo (competed at Nationals)

Previous Winners